Questions about Station Agent position & the MTA

Mugsy

I actually got called for SA AFC after having taken the exam in June 2008. I'm scheduled to report for the pre-interview & medical exam this Friday. I honestly thought the MTA was phasing out the SA position, and I'm genuinely surprised to have been called after all this time.

With that in mind, is there any future as a Station Agent? The whole point of going to work for the MTA (or any public sector job) is to have a little job security. If I'm only going to be declared a "redundancy" in one or two years, I won't bother.

Also, what does the "pre-interview" entail? The name suggests an interview before the actual interview. The late George Carlin would've had a field day with that particular piece of euphemistic whimsy.

Lastly, I've been working for the HHC for the past three years as a Hospital Care Investigator (civil service position). The incumbent rate (which I'm currently earning) is between $40-41k per year. The problem with this position is that there are few opportunities for advancement. Sadly, the HHC is not a meritocracy. Most of the Senior HCI & Supervisor positions tend to go to the most sycophantic & duplicitous individuals in the office.  I’m not a very effective butt-kisser, and I’m no rat; hence, no viable future as an HCI.

How is the culture in the MTA? Is it any better?  Are there opportunities for advancement? A sense (no matter how vague) of camaraderie, or is it the same back-biting viper’s pit that the HHC is?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

P.S. I haven't posted here in ages. Nice to see that this forum is still up & running.

I actually got called for SA AFC after having taken the exam in June 2008. I'm scheduled to report for the pre-interview & medical exam this Friday. I honestly thought the MTA was phasing out the SA position, and I'm genuinely surprised to have been called after all this time.