Railfans rewarded after harassment of NYPD officers at Broad Channel station

46Dover

While going through the July issue of Trains magazine, Don Phillips did an article about how an editor from Railfan and Railroad magazine and another person were taking pics of a historic train at Broad Channel station and were arrested by 4 NYPD cops. The case was thrown out and ACLU got involved helping these two folks earn $3000 each. Anyone else hear or read about this?

I'm only learning about this now too. It's about time transit enthusiasts put their foot down and fight. Rail-fanning is not a crime! Congratulations to the transit enthusiast for the victory for the help of the ACLU. It's about damn time. Hey many can learn from this.

Only $3000 each? I would have sued the police department for more.

It's a step in the right direction, we can look at it this way. A step at a time.

Only $3000 each? I would have sued the police department for more.

Yeah, but the bottom line is they won their case. That to me is two victories for the railfan/transit community.

The article said the judge for the hearing found each of the officers' version of the "photography law" amusing (each had a different version), and in the end, they wished they had never met the two gentlemen lol

Glad to see the cops were reprimanded. The folks who were arrested did absolutely nothing illegal and they definitely deserved that cash after the hell they must've gone through.