Switching Depots

Hey guys, 

I usually post over on the NJ Transit board since I am a bus operator for them.  But I was recently speaking with an MTA b/o who was riding my bus and he mentioned that he had switched depots and that the MTA actually gives you the opportunity to switch from one depot to another once a year during what they call a general pick, and you keep your seniority.  Anybody have any more information or details about this?

I think it would be great if NJ Transit had the same policy.  As it is now, the only way you can switch garages is:

1) If making the move from part time to full time and you put down a different garage on your application (no guarantee you'll get it, though).  I went through this process when I went from part time at Market Street to full time at Oradell.

2) If a line from your garage gets transferred to another garage - they open up the opportunity for a limited number of operators to make the move as well.

3) If your garage closes.  There was a big shakeup back in 1999/2000 or so when Madison Avenue (in Paterson) closed and Wayne Garage opened.  Lines from Madison Avenue were shifted to Market Street and Wayne; and from Market Street to Wayne, and operators were shifted as well.

4) You *can* transfer from one garage to another as a full timer without the above occuring but then you lose your seniority.

Personally, I'd love to opportunity to transfer to different garages every so often just for a change of scenery. 

I don't work for the (MTA) but I think some caveats need to be added. Depots came from private bus lines and created MABSTOA, NYCTA, and MTABus. I won't say it's impossible but I doubt that a B/O from a MTA Bus depot (Eastchester, JFK, Bailsley Park, LaGuardia, etc.) could go to a MABSTOA depot (126 Street). The unions are different.

If I'm wrong, I'm sure a flame war will begin.