Laptop question

DOB2RTO

I have an laptop CPU that stopped working due to the fan dying and hard drive frying. It is an HP Pavilion ze1230 notebook CPU. Can I buy an external hard drive, plug it up by USB connection, and don't worry about an internal hard drive and fan for the laptop? I seen some powerful external hard drives.......

I do have a desktop, which is what I have been using for a few years now. Just want to fix up the laptop, without taking it apart.........

I have an laptop CPU that stopped working due to the fan dying and hard drive frying. It is an HP Pavilion ze1230 notebook CPU. Can I buy an external hard drive, plug it up by USB connection, and don't worry about an internal hard drive and fan for the laptop? I seen some powerful external hard drives.......

I do have a desktop, which is what I have been using for a few years now. Just want to fix up the laptop, without taking it apart.........

Time to buy a new laptop, yours is outdated and old. Prices have dropped. If you need it as a 2nd computer in case something goes wrong with your desktop you can buy a new laptop in the $500.00-$700.00 range.

I think you can replace the fan inside the CPU.

But why use an external HDD if it isnt the best for Primary use, external is meant for back ups not as the default.. If you were on your PC and make a mistake and disconnect the USB wire your whole PC will freeze cuz the External HDD was unpluged which is set as Default (x:\) x= letter of Prim HDD on Windows such as C:\

Also it might be better to get a Desktop then a laptop if you normally dont travel with it since its easier to replace components within the System unit.

Before you do anything, contact the Manufacture of your Notebook and see what they say. If you got a warrenty, use it up for this.

Edit: Seems like your PC is way old: http://www.amazon.com/Pavilion-ZE1230-Notebook-Computer-processor/dp/B00006ADJI