where will the R68's go????!

blkfire765

will the r179's replace some of the R68's or is it too early... what train cars will replace the R68's and what lines will they be moved to before their retirement? i'm sorry if this has been discussed or if this is a dumb question...

(T)(H)(A)(N)(K)(S)

Please take it easy on her fellas. She is still rather new to the forums.

thanks for that:] and your right i am still learning and new... sorry for asking such questions... and when the time for retirement of the R62 and R68's come will they be replaced by R188's for the R62's... and R179's for the R68's or will they be replced by a new train model?

thanks for that:] and your right i am still learning and new... sorry for asking such questions... and when the time for retirement of the R62 and R68's come will they be replaced by R188's for the R62's... and R179's for the R68's or will they be replced by a new train model?

Nobody knows. With the TA (and life in general sometimes) the plan can change at the last second. There's no way now to accurately say which trains will replace which. All we can do is speculate.

R188's are just for the (7) and isnt replacin R62's but that's another subject. I doubt that R68s are gonna be replaced by R179.

Right now, what is clear is, if the R179s do arrive, they will first replace the R44s. Then, if there is more funding, another option order will replace the R46s. This can be derived from some MTA documents. The R68s will not retire anytime soon, for they are close to "mid-life". The general state of the cars is fine and does not call for any major overhaul or replacement.