Attention: In order to reply to messages, create topics, have access to other features of the community you must sign up for an account.
Sign in to follow this  
AgedPolaris

Q about service to Pennsylvania

Okay, so I got a couple friends who are moving out to Lancaster, PA... so of course probably around the 18th-20th I'm gonna take the train out there, which is something I've never done before. I'm glad the one-way ticket is only $45 from NY Penn to LNC, reasonable enough.

I see there are two different "services" here, Pennsylvanian and the Keystone. I saw a cool post about the Pennsylvanian here, the only thing is the only one scheduled for that day leaves at 10:50am, the rest are all Keystone. 10:50am shouldn't be a problem, though.

Is there any advantage to one service over the other? Also... what type of motive power can one expect to see? Forgive my ignorance, but I have a hunch that there's no electric power once you go past Philadelphia to Lancaster. Do they change engines in Philly? I doesn't appear like there's any changing of trains with this route.

Again, just interested.

The Pennsylvanian has Amfleet II cars and a cafe. Keystones are Amfleet I's and PP with out food service. Keystones run Electric the entire trip, the Pennsylvanian does an engine switch in Philly as it runs all the way to Pittsburgh. If you want food service and a chair with a little more room the Pennsylvanian is the best way to go.

I agree with (:P(K). Pennsylvanian is the way to go.

If you're into saving some $ and having an adventure you could (NJT) to trenton, :septa: to philly, and amtk from there, but it's not some smooth trip, you gotta change trains, and make it in time for the pennsylvanian. If you do take the transit option, even part of the way, you could try taking :septa: out on the keystone corridor to R5 thorndale station from 30th st. Other options include riding RiverLINE from trenton to camden and PATCO to philly.