Westchester/Rockland County Housing Question?

Shortline Bus

As most of you know I am a licensed Teacher Asst. who lives in the Mid Hudson River Valley near Poughkeepsie and have a question about housing myself.

I am very close to getting another job in Westchester/Rockland Counties as I won't mention the school district until it becomes offical. I had an interview on Friday 8/13/10. There also chance I might be staying here upstate as well as I have more interviews in next couple of weeks.

If I get this job, I am plan on moving to Westchester/Rockland but the prices for 1-bedroom apartments in most of this area are almost NYC rates.

I know some about Westchester as I have busfanned for years on Beeline.

However, other than the Palasides Mall I don't know Rockland that well.

Any advice guys on towns/areas that is 'safe' and under $900 a month? My preference is to be in area near White Plains. The areas i hear that not great are West Side/Downtown Yonkers and Downtown Mt Vernon.

Help please.:confused: Thanks in Advance.

sign up to city-data's forums... go in the Westchester section.. ask your question there, and leave for a few days before you check back on it.... watch the amount of replies saying, you're not gonna find anything near that price range for what you're looking for, in the vast majority of Westchester....

....and they would be absolutely right.

--------------------------------------

Trust me, you don't want to live in white plains... don't let the downtown area fool you... outside of its commercial areas, it's not to be desired....

I can't think of an area immediately around white plains where you'd find a place in that range.... only thing that comes to mind is maybe out in Elmsford (north of Tarrytown Rd)....

you could get something in peekskill for 900, but it's getting worse out there...

far as rockland county....