Evenin' from the UK

Red Leicester

Evening All,

I'm a new member from just outside London in the UK who's had an interest in buses since I was 2 (about thirty years ago!) and the railway since 18. Paid little attention to the US until I went on holiday to the Dominican and the only TV channel I could understand was ESPN and got into Baseball in a big way. That got me wanting to visiting New York to go and watch a game, which I still haven't done, and the got me into the transport system.

I consider my railway interest as purely professional (!!) as I work in the industry over here as a timetable planner but I seem to spend more and more time researching rail related things outside of work...

Huge apologies if I asked seemingly obvious questions or ask something that got asked months back!

If anyone wants to know anything about UK rail ops feel free to ask away!

Welcome to the forums, Red Leicester!

I have a question regarding the operations of the London Underground. I've heard that some District and Metropolitan line trains share tracks with National Rail. How is this done? How do they arrange for it?

Do I post the answer here?! Well I'm going to...

London Underground run services onto Network Rail owned lines. The District between Gunnersbury and Richmond and the Bakerloo between Queens Park and Harrow & Wealdstone. The District also does between Putney and Wimbledon but this is unusual as there is no "heavy rail" service over this section save a couple of empties and some for route retention.

The operation is quite simple, train operates over the Network Rail owned line and Network Rail operate the signalling as per another train. Network Rail do not runtrains, they own and operate the infrastructure and effective sell space onto the network for Operators. Hence London Underground effectively becomes an operator and pays a fee to run trains. Train Operators have to be conversant with both LUL and NR rules.