Hello everybody...

3rdRailOps

My name is Joe.

I've been working for the NYC Transit Authority for 7 years now. About 3 1/2 years as a Track Worker and another 3 1/2 years as a Third Rail Maintainer in the Power Distribution Dept. of Maintainence Of Way.

Just wanted to say hello to everybody out there on the board...

B)

Welcome to the forum it is nice to have you here. I see you're a veteran on the job.

A question for you if you don't mind... do you need to be touching anything else besides the 3rd rail to get electrocuted like say one of the main rails? I was always curious as to this.

Wow. Thanks for all the warm greetings guys... You really know how to make a newbie feel welcome...

BMT4Life,

First off, I never mind answering questions from interested parties. Message boards are all about sharing anyway, so ask away.

In answer to your question:

Yes, you MUST be grounded to something in order to get electrocuted by the 3rd rail. The most common way is to be touching a "Running Rail" (the 2 rails the train rides on) or track plate with one foot and then coming in contact with the 3rd rail.

On my job we are required to disconnect the positive cables that feed the 3rd rail from the Sub Station in order to kill power to a section of track for work gangs and contractors.

Yes we actually grab these 650 volt live cables with our hands and unbolt them from the 3rd rail with a just a socket or adjustable wrench.

Our protection against electric shock is to stand on a rubber mat while doing this and to wear a pair of rubber gauntlets.

Unfortunatley these rubber gauntlets are uncomfortable and all too many times I'll see some maintainers (mostly old-schoolers) dropping the cables with their bare hands.