MTA hike fare-y may visit us again

Trainspotter

MTA hike fare-y may visit us again

BY PETE DONOHUE

DAILY NEWS STAFF WRITER

June 6th 2008

[float=right]33884971-20184933.jpg

(4) train at 14th Street Union Square station.[/float]Brace yourself for the possibility of another subway fare and toll hike.

A rare back-to-back increase - along with service cuts - could be in store for commuters now that MTA number crunchers are suddenly dealing with a massive hole in next year's budget.

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority's projected 2009 budget gap has ballooned - doubling or even tripling original estimates, sources said.

Without new state money, officials may soon raise the spectre of increases, service cuts - or both, sources and experts said.

"They don't have many options," one source said.

Subway riders gasped at the suggestion.

"I'm a recent college graduate so I can't afford the subway as it is," said Bryan Tran, 21, of Queens. "Any higher and I will have to walk everywhere. It's ridiculous."

The MTA by law must have a balanced budget. The preliminary plan will be released next month.

"Back-to-back fare hikes would slam riders, already reeling from higher costs of living and a poor economy," said Gene Russianoff of the Straphangers Campaign.

The MTA just boosted fares in March, and those hikes will raise nearly $200 million over the course of a year. If the agency is forced to fill next year's budget gap with increases in subway and commuter train fares, and bridge tolls, the next hikes would have to be even bigger.

The only other consecutive set of increases was in 1980 and 1981.

The latest projections had the MTA struggling to fill a $220 million budget hole. That number has grown to $500 million to $700 million, sources said.