reyhound

20 Dundalk

GREYHOUND That is......... Planning a trip to Baltimore in Oct on the 'Hound was wondering which type of equipment would most likely be running from Dallas to Baltimore? i am not too good at ID ing highway coaches .Last time i rode Greayhound was over 20 years ago and i think they were using MC12 Coaches . If this question is to broad i am sorry i just wonder what trend GH is using in buying new coaches engine trans choices? I heard Detroit is not making bus engines anymore

Thanks

Planning a trip to Baltimore in Oct on the 'Hound was wondering which type of equipment would most likely be running from Dallas to Baltimore? i am not too good at ID ing highway coaches .Last time i rode Greayhound was over 20 years ago and i think they were using MC12 Coaches . If this question is to broad i am sorry i just wonder what trend GH is using in buying new coaches engine trans choices? I heard Detroit is not making bus engines anymore

Thanks

Most if not all of the MC-series coaches Greyhound used to run are retired; there may or may not be a few MC12s left in service but as far as I know that's it. Most of their coaches are MCI 45' D, G, or J-series, with a some 102DL3s in there. The latest order of buses they got was Prevost X3-45s, but those seems to be predominantly for use on the eastern seaboard so you probably won't wind up on one of those. I believe most transmissions are either Allison or ZF, and as far as engines are concerned older buses may well use DD60s or CAT C13s. The Prevosts I believe use Volvo D13 engines, and Detroit Diesel has released a new engine called the DD13 for OTR coaches that Greyhound might order.

So the 102 DL3 is an older model?

thanks for the reply i thought the MC's series was fading away

the older MCI's are mainly gone from the US, you can find a vast majority of old MCI's from Greyhound Canada, but you will most like get a J or D series 4500 :P

J4500:

2605269562_601b39dc06.jpg

G4500