what's up fellas

Cleverlyslick

I'm new to this forum but a little about myself. I'm a rail car tech for kawasaki rail car.we basically assemble the new R160's head to toe.I have a prick manager(well they're pretty much all pricks in there) and I am looking to stay within the rail car industry but for the city and hopefully move on to better things.rail car tech in kawasaki doesn't pay well. I'm interested in becoming a train operator/conductor don't know how to go about doing it though. what are the requirements? do I need college? how much do they pay? thanx to all in advance.

(MTA)(MTA)(MTA)

cleverlyslick

You only need a H.S diploma + 5 years continuous work experience to become a T/O off the O/C list. For C/R, I don't think a H.S diploma is required, but don't quote me on that. If you are a Rail car technician, you might also be able to take the RCI (Rail car Inspector) test for MTA. Pay for T/O is 26.99hr start, and tops out at 28+. C/R is a few dollars less. RCI should be more.

Wecome to the board! I'm suprised Kawasaki don't pay well. I can tell you this it seems like you guys did a better job in getting your trains rolling with less problems then the other guys.

If you want to be a (NYCT) Conductor or Train Operator you have to wait from the next Civil service exam which is unknown at this point.

Requirments:

Conductor : High School Diploma or be promoted from Property Protection Agent , Station Agent or Cleaner.

Train Operator"

- Promoted from Bus Operator , Conductor , or Tower Operator

OR

- High School Diploma and 5 Years of Full time paid satisfactory work Experance

(College education may be substituted for experance on the following basis. One year of acceptable experance will be credited for each 30 credits completed at an accredited college up to a Max of four years. However all candidates must have at least one year of full time satisfactory paid work experance. Part time paid experance will be Pro rated.)