Questions about BM3

sheepshead

Hello everyone,

I'm new to NYC and NYC Transit, so I was hoping that some of the transit workers or riders who use BM3 could share some knowledge about this route. I just got a place in Sheepshead Bay and will be working in Lower Manhattan. I'm trying to decide whether to get to work by subway or bus. BM3 is really convinient for me (stop is literally outside my apt. building on Emmons), but here are my concerns:

1) How reliable is the service on BM3 generally? Schedule says its about 1 hour ride from Emmons Ave/Shore Blvd to State St/Battery Pl. Is that reasonable? What has been your experience? I realize buses can sometimes get stuck in traffic, but what would you say is the ball-park average travel time on weekdays?

2) How crowded does the bus usually get? I plan on taking the BM3 at 6:30AM (arriving downtown Manhattan at 7:28AM). Since the next bus only leaves at 7AM and arrives downtown at 8:12, its not an option for me since I'd be late for work. Is it ever the case that bus could be so full that I won't be able to get on? I ask this because I actually won't be getting on at beginning of the route at Emmons/Shore Blvd, but a little further down at Emmons/Knapp St.

I would like to find out all of this info by myself, but I haven't even moved into my apartment yet. I'd love to hear any input from people who are more familiar with this route, so I at least know what to expect.

Thank you!