Subway Scheduling

MrTransitMan

Hello,

I'm new to this I understand that scheduling works off of data from metrocards and possible rider checks. Are actual track maps used as well to assist with the scheduling. I actually met with a service planner for the subways and he stated that they try to schedule trains 90 seconds a part. I asked what determines a line to be local in one spot and express in another, and he said based off of metrocard data. For example, the C goes to Euclid rather then the E because it would run local and make the E very unreliable (which I didn't understand).

Hello,

I'm new to this I understand that scheduling works off of data from metrocards and possible rider checks. Are actual track maps used as well to assist with the scheduling. I actually met with a service planner for the subways and he stated that they try to schedule trains 90 seconds a part. I asked what determines a line to be local in one spot and express in another, and he said based off of metrocard data. For example, the C goes to Euclid rather then the E because it would run local and make the E very unreliable (which I didn't understand).

The longer a route is, the more of a chance something on the line will happen. And yes, due to signaling issues, there cannot be more than 30 trains per hour. If the line doesn't have to/rarely switches/merges wih another line this can be exceeded.

The express/local configuration also has to do with how the stations are laid out. In all but a few cases the express stations have two island platforms enabling passengers to transfer between the local and the express right across the platform. Like I said there are exceptions to this, but by and large the express stops are set in stone... well, in concrete.