Runaways in the Subway

JHF

I'm curious if anyone knows of any cases of runaways in the NYC subway system. What sorts of systems are in place to prevent this if the operator should fail to stop it? I'm new to this and am writing an article on modern prevention of runaways and their history -- any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

All the signals have a 'stop arm' that comes up next to the track when the signal is red. If a train were to run a red signal, the stop arm physically engages a switch on the bottom of every subway car. The switch, once engaged, "trips" the subway train putting it into emergency braking. As a result of this, while there have been rare derailments and collisions, I don't believe there has been a true runaway

Runaways are nothing to worry about in our subway system...

Now imagine you're the engineer of a 7,500 ft long coal train weighing more than 12,000 tons. You're cresting a long 1.5% grade. Because of your unprofessional use of the air brakes you've used up all your air and is left with nothing...

Unlike subway trains there isn't no quick re-charging of the brake pipe. Forget about thinking of using your dynamic or independent brakes, they sure as hell won't stop your train...

Now you're screwed with 12,000 tons of heavy coal traveling at 50 mph plus, right in back of you...

Hey just be glad your load didn't consist of propane...

Yep, and "train drivers" have the easiest job in the world...

I'm curious if anyone knows of any cases of runaways in the NYC subway system. What sorts of systems are in place to prevent this if the operator should fail to stop it? I'm new to this and am writing an article on modern prevention of runaways and their history -- any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

First answer is No....

Second answer the system that is in place is called the C/R pulling the cord.....

Interesting -- thanks this is all good info.