Greyhound Places Historic Order for 220 New Buses from MCI and Prevost

DJ MC

DALLAS (April 1, 2013) — Greyhound Lines, Inc., the industry leader in intercity bus transportation, today announced it has placed its largest bus order in more than 20 years, with 220 new buses from two manufacturers: Motor Coach Industries (MCI) and Prevost. The order includes 130 D4505 buses from MCI and 90 X3-45 buses from Prevost. The company expects the first 120 buses to roll out in 2013, starting in May, with the rest to follow in 2014.

Source: Read more over here

Congrats Greyhound. 

DA85624.jpg

I never liked the 4505s cause I thought they were mutts based of the G series at the front, but as a bus driver, I got behind the wheel of one and i saw that top front end actually helps keep sun glare out. A big help

I never liked the 4505s cause I thought they were mutts based of the G series at the front, but as a bus driver, I got behind the wheel of one and i saw that top front end actually helps keep sun glare out. A big help

These coaches are nice looking for the most part, however they can't beat the legendary MC-8/9s and even the 102-A3s Greyhound had.

LOL... Just what I was thinking... So I guess this "historic" order should replace the roach infested coaches no?  :lol:

This order isn't replacing anything. They are expanding the fleet. Some will go to the Greyhound Express service with this order and BoltBus.

That's a lot of buses for an expansion. How big is this expansion anyways (in other words, how much more service will Greyhound offer).

I know right... I can remember having to stand on Greyhound buses because there no seats... I'm sure they'll be passing the costs for the new buses on to the passengers...

That's a lot of buses for an expansion. How big is this expansion anyways (in other words, how much more service will Greyhound offer).