New Subway Models...Need some help

R160

Hello all,

So I've been saving money for about 5 years now since I got my first MTH O-scale locomotive (6-8-6 Pennsylvania 6200 Loco and Tender).

I recently purchased a R-16 4 car set and a R-1 4 car set with the 2-car add-on. 

subway5.jpg

And since I can't find a good photo of the R-1, I'll use one of Zack's:

DSCN6971-1.jpg

My question pertains to how these trains can run on my current tracks. The locomotive I have no longer runs on the tracks. Both the train and tracks are old, but I think it's the train that is the problem. I was wondering if I would need to update the transformer I have. Would it be possible to run both trains on the same set of track?

What I currently have is:

mIOLo40-atk0Sv_ax77FKaw.jpg

Basically, I was wondering if these trains could run with this equipment. Thanks! 

I remember taking that picture lol. How many Watts is that transformer-Remote your using?  The R-1 needs a minimum of a Z-750 to a Z-1000 to operate. A Z-500 will not work. What kind of tracks are you using? Now remember, the R-1, is a "Premier" Subway Set so this will require a minimum of an O-42/45 Curve.  The Lionel Subway is just as a big as the R-1, however, Lionel Subways can utilize O-36s to turn on, even O-27, but i would NOT recommend it. It looks terrible and that cars are wayy too big to be using such a tight turn. Definitely upgrade the curves if that's also your issue. I love the Atlas Track, as you see it in the photo above. Detailed and strong.

I guess I might as well ask, dying out of curiosity. How much does it cost to build such model systems? I thought about installing a train simulator (I mean the software) , but these models are looking great! I only wish I can fit one in my apartment. But yeah what is the average cost? 

I think the last time I had a Lionel kit was when I was a kid but I have no idea how much it costs because I received it as a Christmas present.