Student Transportation Forum

Harry

Working formally with the NYDOE OPT directly as an IT consultant I can contribute on the political end if anyone has any questions on how the dispatching process works or how it works with contracts awarded to private companies to the best of my ability. Keep in mind some is sensitive info I cannot divulge as far as actual student info please do not ask, but I'll be more than happy to discuss otherwise. This may benefit parents who may occasionally visit the forums as well.

Realizm I'd love to know the reality of a small company being to win a bid for any sort of NYCDOE transportation?  Can someone who planned on buying 1-4 buses bid and actually be awarded any sort of contract?  I'm wondering because I've read a lot of RFP's for District transportation and it all seems to come down to "qualified candidates," many RFP's even stated part of the qualifying process is an inspection of the potential contractors yard an equipment.

I'm wondering how easy it is to get a NYCDOE contract because I've seen an increase in "mom & pop bus inc" operating around the city, even more so last school year.

How does the bid work?  Do you bid on particular routes?

Are there an equipment requirements (for example age requirements, like buses can't be more than 10 years old, etc.)?

Edited by Burrstone

Realizm I'd love to know the reality of a small company being to win a bid for any sort of NYCDOE transportation?  Can someone who planned on buying 1-4 buses bid and actually be awarded any sort of contract?  I'm wondering because I've read a lot of RFP's for District transportation and it all seems to come down to "qualified candidates," many RFP's even stated part of the qualifying process is an inspection of the potential contractors yard an equipment.

I'm wondering how easy it is to get a NYCDOE contract because I've seen an increase in "mom & pop bus inc" operating around the city, even more so last school year.