Questions Regarding Train Operator Exam 6608

Bronx Bound D

Hi all,

My name is Abel and this is my first time taking an open competitive exam.

I actually have a Train Operator passbook (had it since i was 16). I know, i really have a passion for this career. Anyways, i have glanced at it many times and found some really resourceful things on what to expect when entering the field, including the reading comprehension. Over the years i've scored from about 82-100%. I think my last practice exam was back to a 92%. It had some very bizarre questions regarding quarts, pints, and measurements that porters use and i honestly don't do that well when it comes to conversions.

Here are some questions i have:

1) Should i expect to find math problems, (such as the one i mentioned) on the test? Or any math questions at all?

2) How long would it take to receive my score? What comes afterwards? Is the hiring process a long wait?

3) I have done community service for about a Year (2013-2014), my current job is a seasonal temp at 1199, and as of now, as a reward for my hard work and dedication, my supervisor recommended me for another job as a transport for patients. I am also going to college full time. Will this be good enough experience for the TA to even consider me for Train Operator? Will my rank be good enough to even be eligible?

I do not mean to Bombard any of you with questions. I have looked at some links with detailed descriptions regarding my questions and concerns, but if anyone here could answer them in the simplest way possible, I would appreciate that. Something to take a quick glance at least. I just simply do not have the time on my plate to look at long descriptions, but i am very serious about what I want, and will do anything I can to be successful. Thank You and god bless to anyone who can help me. 

Regards,

Abel