Symphony in E-flat

Tokkemon

For those of you who don't know me, I'm a classical composer. My most recent large-scale work is my second attempt at a symphony called Symphony in E-flat. This is my second attempt at the Symphonic medium and has been a blast from beginning to end. Unlike the last symphony, I think this one was much more fun to write as the music flowed more naturally from my mind. I hope you all enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

The orchestra is a standard sized one with tripled winds and a bit of extra percussion, with harp and celesta. This is the first orchestra piece that I've really used Celesta, a very cool color to work with. I also used a few percussion instruments that I haven't really taken advantage of before like finger cymbals, vibraphone, and crotales.

The Symphony is divided into three movements (unlike the usual four). Their forms are as follows:

Mov 1: Intro - Fast - Slow - Fast - Coda - 16 min.

Essentially a large ABCBA form. There are three principle themes: A "waltz" theme, a "tone-row esque" theme, and a "romantic" theme. The first two dominate the B sections; the third dominates the A's and C's. There is no true Sonata form in here though the principles of exposition, development, and recapitulation have been used, just not in the traditional mode.

Mov 2: Slow - 8 min.

This is a slow movement that takes the theme of the horn quartet and expands on it. Actually, the theme isn't heard in its true form until the large tutti statement at the end. Elsewhere in the movement, the theme is treated to many shifting colors and settings. This was the first movement to be completed and, as such, is probably the most "conservative" of them all. But I find that works as a good foil to the first movement's sometimes raucous nature.

Mov 3: Scherzo - Finale - 7 min.