Career Advice

5 Express Train

Good Morning!

I am a 22-year old young professional and I am extremely interested in becoming a train operator. I have been an advocate of public transportation since I was a small child and I really want to become a public servant. I know that this scenario has been played so many times on this forum but I am looking for some sound advice and answers to the following questions:

• Is there any experience that I need to have to become a train operator (i.e. bus driver or subway conductor)?
  • Where and whom may I get accurate research on this goal?
  • How often does the civil service exam take place?
  • Generally how long does one have to wait to be called from the list of exam participants?
  • What are some things that I can do prepare myself for this occupation?

Thank You!

Answers in red:

Good Morning!

I am a 22-year old young professional and I am extremely interested in becoming a train operator. I have been an advocate of public transportation since I was a small child and I really want to become a public servant. I know that this scenario has been played so many times on this forum but I am looking for some sound advice and answers to the following questions:

• Is there any experience that I need to have to become a train operator (i.e. bus driver or subway conductor)?

Varies, depending on the exam filing since the requirements can be changed for each new test. The most up to date info I can give you is the last test, 5 years of work experience and a high school diploma were required. For those with college, 30 college credits will fill 1 year of work experience, up to a maximum of 4 years - meaning that even with 4+ years of college you still need at least 1 year of work experience. Part time work experience is pro rated based on hours worked.