Documentary Film

Hi there,

I'm a graduate student in Social Documentary Film at the School of Visual Arts. I'm planning to make a short film about MTA subway employees who have experienced the tragedy of someone taking his/her life on the tracks and the impact this has on those unfortunate to experience this. I'm looking for guidance on who I should speak with and/or include in the film. Are there support groups? I've read about Rabbi Harry Berkowitz. Is he someone I should contact? I'd have to start filming soon, since my deadline for school is soon! Thanks for any help you can provide.

Hi there,

I'm a graduate student in Social Documentary Film at the School of Visual Arts. I'm planning to make a short film about MTA subway employees who have experienced the tragedy of someone taking his/her life on the tracks and the impact this has on those unfortunate to experience this. I'm looking for guidance on who I should speak with and/or include in the film. Are there support groups? I've read about Rabbi Harry Berkowitz. Is he someone I should contact? I'd have to start filming soon, since my deadline for school is soon! Thanks for any help you can provide.

Why would you contact a rabbi? There arnt that many j3w MTA employees that go see that particular rabbi for tragedys in the subway.. No one wants to re-live their experiences for some student doc.

Because, from what I understand, the chief chaplain of MTA is Rabbi Berkowitz. And I understand that asking people to talk with me about something so painful is asking a lot, but I'm hoping to bring awareness to an experience that, unless you've gone through it yourself or know someone who has, not many people think about.