Train Operator Letter to NYS Dept. of Labor

quarrybay

A NYCT train operator letter to the NYS Department of Labor regarding OSHA and other labor violations.  The train operator's name is redacted.

NYS Department of Labor
Building 12
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12240 

April 22, 2019 

Dear Commissioner Reardon,  

Hi, I am XXXXX and I am a train operator with New York City Transit. The MTA puts train crews’ health and safety on the back burner and attempt to justify their actions with the excuse that they are just trying to keep the trains moving. Nothing is more evident of this than the way Governor Cuomo halted the planned L train shutdown, originally scheduled to begin this week, to keep trains running despite the safety risk associated with silica dust, amongst other things; and I may have to file a complaint about this soon. However, I am writing because I am very unhappy with the way your department has handled my past complaints over the last few years. Namely, your Division of Labor Standards and PESH. I also have an issue with the way I was spoken down to when I went to the Division of Labor Standards in 2016. They told me that because I work for the public sector that I am not considered an “employee” under NYS Labor Law. I believed that until very recently when I read that the definition of “employee” only excludes public workers in Labor Law 190 of Article VI. When you look at Labor Law 2 in Article I, it clearly states that whenever used in this chapter (the entire labor law is considered the “chapter”), the term “employee” means “a mechanic, workingman or laborer working for another for hire.” So, while your department admitted that labor law 162 does apply to us, they have been handling my case with the undertone that the law doesn’t have to be strictly applied with us, either because we’re public employees or because we happen to have a union, both of which are completely incorrect. In Syracuse Teachers Ass’n v. Board of Education, 35 N.Y.2d 7