Home Signal Question

Sal151

Hello everyone,

I'm a new Train Operator and recently I've noticed something on Home Signals that I've never payed attention to. Now its gotten to the point, that I HAVE to know what this thing is (i'm just annoying like that). Anyway, I work in the IRT ( A - Division) and not sure if these boxes are in the B - division which i'm sure they probably are. 

But here's a question to all you old timers..and new guys and gals who know their transit stuff....

Have you ever noticed on home signals / interlockings  those boxes that have two lights on them? (some have just one bulb)  And when you open them there's a old phone inside? 

1) What is the name of this box?

2) When were they installed?

3) When where they discontinued?

4) How did they work exactly? Was the home signal at danger and the box was lit up telling the T/O to pick up the phone?

5) Who did the T/O speak to on the other end? A tower operator? Control?

6) Do they still work? 

7) Where they on the "old IRT" signals?

Thanks everyone.

Sal

Well before we had portable radios thats probably how train operators may have communicated to the towers for their routes. As a new T/O I wouldn't be worried about that. If the TSS's didn't teach you that in schoolcar then it isn't important. I saw those when I finally got out on the road and pretty much could tell what it was. That's why we have portable radios now.

Hello everyone,

I'm a new Train Operator and recently I've noticed something on Home Signals that I've never payed attention to. Now its gotten to the point, that I HAVE to know what this thing is (i'm just annoying like that). Anyway, I work in the IRT ( A - Division) and not sure if these boxes are in the B - division which i'm sure they probably are. 

But here's a question to all you old timers..and new guys and gals who know their transit stuff....