2 Questions Regarding Bus Operators

Kenstyles

Hi All,

Forgive me if this is the wrong section but I have a couple questions regarding B/O's

1. I'm a current school bus driver and wanted to know if B/O have a split shift like school bus drivers (4 hours on, 4 hour break, 4 hours on, 12 hours off  - back to 4 on, 4 off, 4 on)?

I know for new drivers weekends and nights are gonna be most of the time we work.

2. When the job posting states drivers start at $2x.xx per hour and then will be $3x.xx after 6 years....

Does that mean the pay stays the same for 5 years and then jumps at the 6th year?

Or does that mean the pay gradually moves up a couple buck per hour, every year?

Thanks!

10 minutes ago, Kenstyles said:

2. When the job posting states drivers start at $2x.xx per hour and then will be $3x.xx after 6 years....

Does that mean the pay stays the same for 5 years and then jumps at the 6th year?

Or does that mean the pay gradually moves up a couple buck per hour, every year?

On this one, under a union contract, your wages increase after set periods of time - typically called steps or a synonymous term.

So you could start at the entry wage, then have an increase after probation ends, then have a date in the contract when the new wages go into effect across the board (in my union in California, it was usually Oct 5), then on your anniversary date, you get another one, and so on until at year 6, you’re at that wage they mentioned in the posting.

Depending on the contract, that could be the top step wage for people who met that milestone, and every wage increase isn’t laid out in a per hour format, but rather in a similar percentage increase as people aging into the 6-year level (i.e. if the bump from year 5 to year 6 is 2%, the contract could give you that 2% as well on that across the board date).