NYCT Career Advice 101 Help?

moneyandmuscle

Happy Veterans day to all, I'm a new memeber to the form. Ive read a lot of post but I just receently signed up and dicded to become active....

I'm 28yrs old and I have a 5yr old son, I currently work for a private online marketing company. I want a career change and I've always been a fan of NYCT employees since my dad is a soon to be retired bus operator. What is the best way to get into MTA besides being a station cleaner? Ive taken the train operator exam and I have 2 bus operator exams coming up very soon (MTA) (mabstoa)  What would you guys suggest? 

Patience is key. Im a student urban planner, but i do have a little insight into transit positions. The economy is picking up, more positions should open for most public positions, especially as those who held off retirement start to move out , people in the middle move up and open more spots at the bottom. Not sure if this is the case for the MTA, but its true for may public sector positions. I agree that civil service exams are key too. Make some connections in the MTA, connections help tremendously

Sent from my Nokia 521 using Tapatalk

• 3 weeks later...

I'm 28yrs old and I have a 5yr old son, I currently work for a private online marketing company. I want a career change and I've always been a fan of NYCT employees since my dad is a soon to be retired bus operator. What is the best way to get into MTA besides being a station cleaner? Ive taken the train operator exam and I have 2 bus operator exams coming up very soon (MTA) (mabstoa)  What would you guys suggest?

What do you want to do in transit? Drive a bus? Operate trains? Desk job? There are two ways in: open competitive tests (bus op, train op, conductor, bus mechanic, etc) or the open interview process for titles such as analyst (administration positions). Keep checking the MTA website for employment opportunities. Both types of jobs will be posted if available.

• 2 weeks later...