Bus Operator From Another Transit Agency

giedosst

Hello!

I am a Bus Operator out in Portland Oregon with Trimet looking to start tho process to get in line for the possibility to drive for MTA. I have a class B Oregon CDL with my air brakes and passenger endorsements, a spotless record and a year with Trimet both as a bus operator and recently as a line trainer. Other than wait for the exam to open, can anybody give me more information on what I may need to be considered? Is there anything else I need or should know about the hiring process other than it takes a long time?

Thanks!

Other than wait for the exam to open, can anybody give me more information on what I may need to be considered? Is there anything else I need or should know about the hiring process other than it takes a long time?

Welcome to NYCTF!  :) 

There are three divisions of the MTA that hire bus operators; MTA Bus Co., MaBSTOA and New York City Transit. All three take the BOSS exam and NYCT takes a written exam. Keep this in mind when applying.

You summed everything in your post. It's pretty much a waiting game after taking the exam(s) as everyone awaits for the list to be established and made public which can go past one year. Then there is a drug test, in some cases multiple drug tests as they expire 90 days followed by medical. The MTA requires a very detailed work history and background of any motor vehicle or criminal matters. It is best to report when called for appointments and to be thorough in your responses to the background inquiry.

When training you are expected to drive how the MTA wants.

That's it pretty much.

Welcome to NYCTF!  :) 

There are three divisions of the MTA that hire bus operators; MTA Bus Co., MaBSTOA and New York City Transit. All three take the BOSS exam and NYCT takes a written exam. Keep this in mind when applying.