LIRR Engineer Open House general question.

Webraider1972

I'm currently a Train Operator for NYC Transit.  I've been invited to LIRR open house for Engineers on Thursday.  i know it's more money, and I'm aware of the training.  The thing is I'm very happy working for Transit.  I quite honestly didn't think they'd call me for LIRR RailRoad.  I plan on going to the open house but if there's anyone out there who's worked for Transit before who is now with LIRR, is it really worth it?  It's risky in this economy to let go of a secure job for one that's not as secure.  I would have to do this at some point during the training etc..Also.. on the decertification every two years, there's always the chance you won't pass this test.  I know that going to the open house doesn't mean I'm in but just in case this goes further, any suggestions?  Thanks for any help you can give!

I'm currently a Train Operator for NYC Transit. I've been invited to LIRR open house for Engineers on Thursday. i know it's more money, and I'm aware of the training. The thing is I'm very happy working for Transit. I quite honestly didn't think they'd call me for LIRR RailRoad. I plan on going to the open house but if there's anyone out there who's worked for Transit before who is now with LIRR, is it really worth it? It's risky in this economy to let go of a secure job for one that's not as secure. I would have to do this at some point during the training etc..Also.. on the decertification every two years, there's always the chance you won't pass this test. I know that going to the open house doesn't mean I'm in but just in case this goes further, any suggestions? Thanks for any help you can give!