Replies to my letter sent to NJT CEO/DIRECTOR

Shortline Bus

guys i recently wrote a letter to the head executive at NJ Transit about two issues. Creating a new Staten island-New Jersey bus line along both the Gotheals and Outerbridge Crossing. Also expanding the NJ Transit Northeast Line as well. Please review and offer your comments.

Hudson Valley, NY, USA

The Letter

New Jersey Transit, Inc.

C/o Richard R. Sarles

Executive Director

NJ TRANSIT Headquarters

1 Penn Plaza East

Newark NJ 07105

June 12, 2009

Dear Mr. Sarles.

I am a Grad Student that also a mass transit advocate that has ridden on subway, bus and commuter lines throughout my whole life. I am writing this letter to address as brief as I can three issues involving suggestions. One would involve creating all night or 24 hour service on Transit’s Northeast corridor line. The other is creating a new direct bus link between Freehold (Freehold Raceway Mall) and Staten Island, NY via US Route 9 corridor.

A) Northeast Corridor-This line should be extended to 30th Street Philadelphia operating non stop between North Philadelphia and Trenton. I am wondering Sir if an agreement could be made between your agency, SEPTA and Amtrak/Conrail to operate this service.

1) I am proposing that this line expand the hours of NJ Transit to run at all times 24 hours a day between Trenton and New York. With so many people relocating to central New Jersey and beyond in addition to this being NJT’s busiest rail line I strongly feel that this route warrants overnight service. This is similar to the New York City area and the Long Island Railroad Commuter trains operating about two-three routes with 90 minute headways between 2-5am. It would be great if New Jersey Transit could do the same. In addition ‘express’ service between New Brunswick and Newark Penn Station should be expanded especially on weekends.