Trying To Get Back In

TeeLow

This is a strange request I have to ask. You don't know me from Adam and I've only made a few posts on this forum so far. I'm more of a lurker I guess but I've been loving the system for a good 40 years. NYCTA is in my blood and I can't get enough

I hope you have a bit of time because this will be quite a read. First let me give you a bit of history.

In 1985 I joined the Maintenance Division of the TA as a Light Maintainer's Helper. I was also on the list for Conductor at that time (my preferred job). About 6 months after taking the promotional exam I was a Maintainer. Jay St called me for Conductor about a month before but I didn't take it due to procedure confusion. Since they didn't allow lateral moves anymore from Maintenance to Transportation I had to quit the Light Helper job and that didn't seem right. So I kept the helper job and was promoted soon after.

For the next 5 years I'm in a job that pays good money and has great bennys but I'm not really digging it. Time off here, sick day there...all I could see was I was stuck in a job I began to hate. I got caught up in some trouble and after 7 1/2 years I was forced to resign. That was my fault and no one was to blame but me.

But I'm still in love with the TA even after I walk out the door. Even while I was workin the 12-8 shift the hilight was when I got to walk the tracks and tunnels and flag down trains between stations. I knew more about the entire system than some of the lifers who been there 30 years or more. I knew every line, where they switched out, crossed over and terminated. I got to walk the jumper that connected the old K Line between the IND and the BMT. I was a rail fan even while I worked