Why are companies like the MTA and Amtrak so hard to break into?

NYCFan9553

I would like to become a Conductor for either Amtrak or the LIRR. I've applied many times to these companies, but have never been selected to even interview. I have several years of customer service experience. It's frustrating. Unfortunately I think there are so many applicants for Conductor, so they can really pick and choose. :(    

These transit workers are essentially trusted with the safety of hundreds, if not thousands, of people every day. That is why they are selective in their choices, among other reasons.

These transit workers are essentially trusted with the safety of hundreds, if not thousands, of people every day. That is why they are selective in their choices, among other reasons.

Railroad employees are not Transit workers.

Hey P3F, I guess you highly insulted LIRR154 because the ONLY response he can give was "Railroad employees are not transit workers" even though you were asking a very valid question. Look..... All I can tell you is to keep on trying. Some people have better luck than others, but if it's something you really want to do just keep trying, OR...... Try for another craft to get your foot in the door. Good luck in your endeavors.

Hey P3F, I guess you highly insulted LIRR154 because the ONLY response he can give was "Railroad employees are not transit workers" even though you were asking a very valid question. Look..... All I can tell you is to keep on trying. Some people have better luck than others, but if it's something you really want to do just keep trying, OR...... Try for another craft to get your foot in the door. Good luck in your endeavors.