Important: Considering forms of transportation to/from NYC

Paul P

Hi folks,

I'm sitting here thinking about how to get to New York not the easiest way, but maybe the most pleasant way...

Considering I live in Delaware I mostly use Amtrak from Wilmington directly into NY Penn, but as I was looking up trains to ride for an upcoming trip, the price made me reconsider. I'm on a smaller budget sometimes, and knowing the round trip price for my cheapest trains this time is 54 x 2 = $108, I had to cut back.

In this case I would usually take SEPTA from Wilmington to Philadelphia, PA then another one to Trenton, NJ and then a NJ Transit train from there to NY which would cost me $21.50 one way (3 trains, but definitely cheaper than Amtrak).

So far these were my 2 options, but I recently came upon MegaBus and BoltBus which I've never used before. As much as I don't like long-distance bus travel, the prices are just too tempting. From Philadelphia to NY $14 there, and $8-10 back... the trip is only 2 hours long which isn't bad at all, as I would only have to take a SEPTA back to Wilmington from Philly ($4.75 one way).

- So I guess my question would be what option to choose. I love Amtrak's service and I know as soon as I step on that train, I'll get to point B safely, and much faster than by anything else, but sometimes the fares are just too high. ($108 round trip)

- The SEPTA and NJT combo is good because it's all trains and is cheaper than Amtrak ($43 round trip) but takes up a lot more time due to connections and can be very tiring.

- The bus trip sounds good... 2 hours from Philly to NYC is reasonable. I don't really care about customer service at this point as I've never used them before but this would cost just around $34.

I'm also considering a mix of two of the above, maybe like a bus trip up to NY and Amtrak going back to DE?!

I'm having a hard time deciding this by myself, so anyone who cares, share your experiences, opinions, etc...