Ticket choices for LIRR

nyctransit

I would be travelling 8 times a week ( 4 round-trips) every week from bayside to penn station. What LIRR ticket option would you recommend? I imagine the monthly pass is expensive for me. so I'm thinking between the weekly and the 10-trip. is there anything that I need to be aware of? I'm relatively new to LIRR  and I currently buy tickets as I go.

Assuming you're traveling during peak hours on both legs of the round trip, the monthly is your best value. Granted we are already 9 days into March so probably not for the rest of this month, but definitely at the beginning of April if you plan to travel 8 times a week for the whole month. If you're starting your 4 r/t commute this coming Monday, 3 weekly tickets for the rest of March will cost $201.75 as opposed to the $210 monthly. Weekly tickets are good from Saturday to the following Friday, so this week's weekly is effective today (3/9/13) till Friday (3/15/13). This means March 30th and 31st won't be covered by the weekly tickets if you plan on getting the April monthly if that matters to you.

Awesome analysis, thank you so much. Yes, my travel is peak-travel.

Also, I was inclined toward the 10-day or weekly tickets.  I guess, what you say about monthly makes more sense and so I might purchase monthly going forward for april.

A quick question - if I buy the weekly or monthly peak ticket then can I also use it on off-peak times?

Weekly and monthly tickets are good for travel at all times. There is no off-peak version of the weekly and monthly tickets. So to answer the question, yes, you can use during off-peak times including weekends.

• 3 weeks later...

I would recommend the Queens local bus to the #7 express train.  Should take at most 20 minutes extra each way and it'll be $2.50 round trip with your Metrocard.  Go to www.mta.info to find which Queens local bus is closest to you.  No need to pay the outrageous peak fares on the LIRR.