Unnecessary Local/Express Bus Routes

R32 3348

I was just looking at a Queens Bus Map on http://www.mta.info. I live in Jackson Heights, and recently my friend told me that I could try to take the QM22 bus when I had any free time. Now I've never rode an express bus before, so I was interested.

I checked the timetable for the bus line, and found that it's one of the most BS bus routes ever. Not only is it half a mile from my house, there are four trips a day, two in each direction. I can hardly imagine a QM22 getting crowded with only two trips that only benefit typical nine-to-fivers (is this route getting cut?).

Anyway, that leads me to my next question. Do you believe there are other local/express bus routes that are heavily underused or do not make enough trips to justify keeping during these times?

Here are some that I've noticed are unnecessary (what do you think?):

QM22 and QM23 entirely

BM4 and BM5 weekend

BxM18 entirely (not sure, I'm not good with the Bronx)

like 95% of all express routes are unnecessary. i see those express buses go down queens blvd, and their empty most of the time (sometimes youll see like 1 or 2 ppl on thats it)

express buses should be rush hours only, they should allocate those express buses on local service during other times

as of july 1 this is what will happen:

Eliminated: M6, 8, 10, 18, 27, 30, and X25

Eliminated: weekend service on M21, 22, and 50

Eliminated: overnight service on M1, 2, 16, 22, 23, 42, 50, 66, 79, 96, 102, 103, and 104 Reduced hours or rerouted: M1, M9, M11, M15, M20, M21 m100 m116, and m104

Eliminated: B23, 25, 37, 39, 51, and 75

Eliminated: B2, 4, 7, 16, 24, 48, 57, 65, 69, 71, X27, and X28

Eliminated: overnight service on B7, 14, 31, 45, 48, 57, 64, 65, 67, and 77.

Reduced hours on B2, 4, 9, 11, 13, 16, 69, 70, and 71 Eliminate part of the B13 route

Eliminated: all service on the Bx4, 14, 20, 34, BxM7B, and the Barretto Park Pool Shuttle

Eliminated: weekend service on Bx8, 18, 30, and 33