Tips for exits at subway stations.

quiggle

Friends, I'm still relatively new to New York, only having lived here for 3 years. This is a rather embarrassing to say, but for stops that have multiple exits (such as Atlantic Barclays, Jay Street Metrotech, Canal Street, Union Square), I tend to head out exits that are a few blocks from where I want to be. Some of the exit signs are very general and don't mention the cross-street, just the name of the station and a SE/SW/NE/NW direction. Are there any tips or suggestions on how to better navigate my sense of direction so the exit I choose is closest to where I'd like to go? Thank you!

You will eventually find out, but on your spare time take time to look around the station to learn the exits. You will know if you want to get to a certain place you need to be at the front of the train. In the mean time you can get exit strategy, it costs something but gives you exact details.

Frankly, I don't think there's a very good solution. In the 1970s-1980s the MTA posted signs that were far more informative which read "South Side of xx Avenue" or "North Side of xx Street," but those only remain in a few stations. The NESW directions are only really helpful when you're familiar with the directions of the area, but aren't as helpful when there's no north-south grid (i.e outside of Manhattan). I've only come to know exits by experience.

The best thing I can recommend is to board the train in regard to where you're trying to get off: i.e., the back of a southbound 4/5/6 if you want to exit closer to 16th St at Union Square, or the front if you want to exit closer to the 14th St. Of course, that's often easier said than done. Some stations (West 4th Street comes to mind) are very simple when it comes to exits, and boarding the train based on the exit is important.