Questions re: C

Subcarfan

So, I'm new to this, but seriously interested in all of it. I want to start learning, and i want to start with the C. Someone have answers? Thx!

-What exactly makes it so hard to replace the C trains with newer cars?

and

-When are they going to do this? Any Ideas?

So, I'm new to this, but seriously interested in all of it. I want to start learning, and i want to start with the C. Someone have answers? Thx!

-What exactly makes it so hard to replace the C trains with newer cars?

and

-When are they going to do this? Any Ideas?

1. They have no new cars available. All are taken on other lines.

2. They are EITHER going to do this ~2014, when the next car order comes in, or in ~2030, when the last old cars retire (but by then, now-new cars will be old again). It depends.

okay. ive been seeing posts that refer to different lengths of cars and some trains having different number of cars in each train. for some reason it seems that the C would be a hard train to replace because of car sizes. is this true?

the cars that are on the C now are just as long as the newer trains (60 feet). what you probably read is the fact that the C trains are only 8 cars long instead of the usual 10.

the C line is capable of running full length 10 car trains. in theory they can replace the cars on the C whenever they wanted to as there are no restrictions unlike some other routes. i believe the reason why the C and A gets old cars is the fact that it is convienent to the train yard at 207th street in manhattan, where the old trains go to die basically.

I don't think size is a factor.