26% of U.S. don't know who we declared independence from: Marist poll

Harry

How dumb are we?

Apparently, pretty dumb.

At least according to a new Marist poll, which says 26% of people in this country don’t know that the U.S. declared its independence from Great Britain.

That includes 20% who were unsure and 6% who thought the U.S. separated from another nation.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/2010/07/03/2010-07-03_26_of_us_dont_know_who_we_declared_indepence_from_marist_poll.html#ixzz0skk4AaIj

post-1-133288582102_thumb.jpg

post-1-133288582102_thumb.jpg

It's the sad truth but the average American doesn't give a shit about its own country's history.

Not a surprise. Even a Dummy like me lol knew about '1776' and how the modern US was founded by grade 6:(.

As a Teacher, i am very surprised at how many kids really are not doing in well in both middle and Sr. High School in US and World History.

HOw do people not know this? Come on, this is history for pete's sake.

Everybody is too worried about updating there profile on Facebook and making sure they twitter there status at the hair salon.

I know. That crap has almost consumed the entire country. Who the hell cares about what you're doing every second of the day......except the others on said site. I know one thing, I never had a Facebook/Twitter/whatever else there is profile and I never will. Perfectly fine with a cellphone and traditional mail.

Disturbing...absolutely disturbing. More tax dollars being wasted just because kids don't grow up to know about the history of this very country that they live in. SMH....

Thats a crying shame.And let me guess.......

The Iraqis bombed pearl harbor

JFK was the man that Invented airplanes

The civil war was over the last civil service examination

George Washington invented car washes

Theodore roosevelt created the Roosevelt Island tram

Samuel Colt invented colt 45 malt liquor