How stable is the MTA?

Nova RTS 9147

Okay, I studied the (MTA) for several years, yet I still feel there's more to the story than we, the public are being told. We all know about their budget situation, the service cut, the layoffs, ect.

The MTA is currently billions in debt (to the tune of at least $20 billion, probably more). To my immediate knowledge, no company has come back from being that much in debt, which brings me to my question: How solvent is the MTA? Are they on the brink of bankruptcy? Should the State step in and break up the company?

Also, was it a wise idea to have all operations (NYCTA, LIRR, MNRR, LIBus) under one umbrella operation? In hindsight (at least to me) the MTA got in over their heads.

What do you think?

let (MTA) go private then see how much the fare will be when that is the sole funding for the system. people cry over 2.25. imagine the screams when its $5. it was private before it became the (MTA)and went broke.

Well, it went broke before because the pricing was fixed by the government. Granted, i agree that if it went private the fares would become very high.

let (MTA) go private then see how much the fare will be when that is the sole funding for the system. people cry over 2.25. imagine the screams when its $5. it was private before it became the (MTA)and went broke.

I fear that a private (MTA) would equate to a less transparent (MTA), given that as a government agency they already have the transparency of a reinforced brick wall.

This is all assuming they actually have the strength to last a day on their own two feet.

Well i guess u r right, but this city and state isnt giving the t/a much, intead spending on bs.

Okay, I studied the (MTA) for several years, yet I still feel there's more to the story than we, the public are being told. We all know about their budget situation, the service cut, the layoffs, ect.