Why Is Math So Hard for Some?

East New York

I used to like math up until my senior year in high school. In my mid-sophomore year (January 2007) I took the Math A regents and scored an 85. As I progressed the math got harder but I kept up with the work. Starting with my senior year I don't know what happened; I failed my first quarter but passed the others with between 75 and 85, but I took the Math B regents three times before I got a passing grade with a 66 and qualified for an Advanced Regents Diploma.

I can side with you on that. Math gets harder and harder as you move along. It ends up being so complicated. If there was some way to make it easier. Someone should develop some sort of shortcut, because it isn't easy. For math Geometry is my favorite, I suck at Trigonometry, and I suck the most at Algebra.

I was an A student in math up until high school. I had this lousy teacher in Brooklyn Tech who gave me a 75 However, I did well on the Regents. I scored a 79 on Sequential Math 1, 94 on Sequential Math 2, and 94 on Sequential Math 3 (I think they're called Math A and B now). On the SAT I scored a 700 on the math section. In college, I was inconsistent in math. The first time I took Calculus II I got a D+ (I'm not ashamed to admit it). The second time I took it I got an A. I had to take Differential Equations three times to pass it. The first time I dropped it. The second time I got a F. The third time I got a B. Math isn't hard. It depends on who is teaching it.

I'm pretty good at math: I'm a year ahead (I took the Algebra Regents in 8th grade, rather than 9th grade), and am one of the smartest students in my Algebra II class (though the Trigonometry section is a little bit harder)

Trig isn't that bad. It's simply sine (opposite/hypotenuse), cosine (adjacent/hypotenuse), and tangent (opposite/adjacent). Calculus is when math becomes torture.

I'm good at most math.

I passed Math RCT, Science RCT, English RCTS, Global History RCT when I graduated in 2005.